CH will finally announce their first pick in the NHL draft tonight


Today, the Montreal Canadiens will announce who will be the NHL draft’s first-ever pick after leaving doubts hanging until the last second.

General manager Kent Hughes has hinted that the decision is between three candidates, namely forwards Shane Wright, Juraj Slafkovsky and Logan Cooley.

The first round is tonight at 7pm at the Bell Center and the following the next day.

CH inherited first choice overall for the first time since 1980 when it targeted Doug Wickenheiser. The team has 13 other selections during this auction, the highest total in the entire league and the highest since the 2005 draft went seven rounds.

How many Quebecers and players from the QMJHL will be recruited? According to our hockey expert Stéphane Leroux, three Quebecers could be drafted in the first round, starting with the Quebec Remparts’ Nathan Gaucher. The other two are Sudbury Wolves’ David Goyette and Gatineau Olympiques’ Tristan Luneau. Since the CH will also speak at ranks 26 and 33, it’s possible that one of them will end up in Montreal.

The Habs also hold the 62e66e75e92e98e127e128e130e162e194e and 216e Selection.

It will also be interesting to see what transactions will take place during the session.

Wright has 32 goals and 94 points in 63 games in 2021-22, adding 3 goals and 14 points in 11 playoff games. Thanks to his outstanding player status, he made his Ontario Junior League debut in 2019 at the age of 15.

Slafkovsky finished last season with 5 goals and as many assists in 31 games in Finnish Elite League. He shone with seven goals at the Beijing 2022 Olympics, helping Slovakia win the bronze medal and being named the tournament’s MVP.

Cooley was a member of the U.S. Development Program under-18 national team. Signed to the University of Minnesota next season, he has 27 goals and 75 points in 51 games this season. He helped the USA win silver at the U18 World Cup with 3 goals and 7 assists.

Order of selection round 1:

1. Montreal Canadiens
2. New Jersey Devil
3. Arizona coyotes
4. Seattle Octopus
5. Philadelphia Flyer
6. Columbus Blue Jackets (obtained from CHI)
7. Ottawa Senators
8.Detroit Red Wings
9. Buffalo Saber
10. Anaheim Ducks
11. Sharks of San Jose
12. Columbus Blue Jackets
13. New York Islanders
14. Winnipeg Jets
15. Vancouver Canucks
16. Buffalo Saber (received from VGK)
17. Nashville predators
18. Dallas Stars
19. Minnesota Wild (obtained from LAK)
20. Washington Capitals
21. Pittsburgh penguins
22. Anaheim Ducks (obtained from BOS)
23. St Louis Blues
24. Minnesota Wilderness
25. Toronto Maple Leaves
26. Montreal Canadiens (obtained from CGY)
27. Arizona Coyotes (received from CAR via MTL)
28. Buffalo Saber (received from FLA)
29. Edmonton oiler
30. Winnipeg Jets (received from NYR)
31. Tampa Bay Blitz
32. Arizona Coyotes (obtained from COL)

Leave a Comment