Trophies in the NHL | Auston Matthews wins Hart and Ted Lindsay trophies

(Tampa) Center Auston Matthews of the Toronto Maple Leafs won the Hart and Ted Lindsay trophies awarded to his team’s Most Valuable Player and the National Hockey League’s Most Valuable Player, respectively.

Updated yesterday at 21:24.

In the pursuit of the Hart Trophy, an honor bestowed by the Association of Professional Hockey Journalists, Matthews received 119 first place votes and 49 second place votes, for a total of 1,630 points.

He edged out Edmonton Oilers’ Connor McDavid, who had 1,111 points thanks to 29 first-place votes, and New York Rangers goaltender Igor Shesterkin (738 points).

“I can’t lie, the feeling is really good. […] It’s really special,” Matthews said, though he admitted receiving the honor in Tampa, where two-time defending champions Lightning and Colorado Avalanche will face off in Game Four of the Stanley Cup Finals on Wednesday, has left bittersweet feelings.

“There’s a bit of a mess, we’d like to still play,” he added.

Matthews, who also won the Maurice Richard Trophy as the NHL’s top scorer with 60 goals in 2021-22, is only the third player in Maple Leafs history to win the Hart Trophy and the first since Ted Kennedy in late 1954-1955 .

In addition, Matthews was the first Maple Leafs player to be presented with the Ted Lindsay Trophy, an honor voted on by members of the Players Association. The other two finalists were Nashville Predators defenseman Roman Josi and McDavid.

This made Matthews the 15the player in NHL history to achieve the Hart-Lindsay double, a feat McDavid achieved most notably last season. The doubles list also includes Guy Lafleur, Wayne Gretzky, Mario Lemieux, Martin St-Louis, Sidney Crosby and Alexander Ovechkin.

In 73 games, Matthews set career-high personal bests with 60 goals, 46 assists and 106 points.

Shesterkin, Makar, and Seider rewarded

Failing to receive the Hart Trophy, Shesterkin won the Vezina Trophy, awarded to the goaltender considered by National Hockey League general managers to be the best at his position.

Shesterkin, who was a finalist for this honor for the first time in his career, is the third flag bearer in Rangers history to be awarded this trophy under the selection criteria established in 1981-1982, following Henrik Lundqvist in 2011-2012 John Vanbiesbrouck, 1985-1986.

Shesterkin emerged as a nearly unanimous choice, receiving 29 of 32 first-place votes. In the other three ballots, he took second place with a total of 154 points.

Photo Nathan Ray Seebeck, USA TODAY Sports Archives

Igor Shesterkin

Calgary Flames’ Jacob Markstrom finished second with 53 points ahead of Nashville Predators’ Juuse Saros (32 points).

The other three first place votes went to Frederik Andersen of the Carolina Hurricanes, Andrei Vasilevskiy of the Tampa Bay Lightning and Ilya Sorokin of the New York Islanders. These three carriers finished fourth, fifth, and sixth, respectively.

Shesterkin led the NHL with 2.07 goals against averages and .935 saves, helping the Rangers (52-24-6) to 110 points, good for third place in NHL history.

Shesterkin finished the season with a 36-13-4 record and six shutouts in 52 games.

In addition, Cale Makar became the first player in Colorado Avalanche history to receive the Norris Trophy, awarded to the most outstanding defenseman in the NHL according to the Association of Professional Hockey Journalists.

In a close vote, Makar collected 1,631 points, 25 more than Josi, although the latter received more first-place votes (98 to 92). Third was Victor Hedman of the Tampa Bay Lightning with 940 points.

The difference in the result comes from the votes in second place, where Makar beat Josi 98-76. The journalists had to identify five players in their ballot and the points were distributed as follows: 10-7-5-3-1.

A 2019-20 Calder Trophy winner, Makar led all NHL defensemen with 28 goals. He’s second among NHL defensemen with 86 points, 10 points behind Josi.

Detroit Red Wings defenseman Moritz Seider won the Calder Trophy, which is awarded to the NHL’s most outstanding rookie, following a vote by members of the Professional Hockey Journalists Association.


Moritz Seider

Seider largely dominated the poll, amassing 1,853 points, thanks in part to 170 first-place votes.

Anaheim Ducks’ Trevor Zegras (1,191 points) and Toronto Maple Leafs’ Michael Bunting (877 points) completed the top three.

Lucas Raymond, another Detroit Red Wings player, finished fourth, while Montreal Canadiens forward Cole Caufield was ninth with 31 points.

Seider played in all 82 games for the Red Wings and had seven goals and 50 points.

In a separate announcement, the NHL announced that the Tampa Bay Lightning’s Julien BriseBois, New York Rangers’ Chris Drury and Colorado Avalanche’s Joe Sakic were finalists to receive the Jim Gregory Trophy, presented to the general manager of the NHL NHL is awarded year in the NHL.

BriseBois is a finalist for the second time in his career after placing second in the 2019-2020 season. Drury, who was named Rangers general manager in May 2021, will obviously be a first-time finalist, as will Sakic.

The winner will be announced at the NHL drafting session on July 7th and 8th in Montreal.

Leave a Comment