Canadian Grand Prix | Max Verstappen will take the lead

Defending champion Max Verstappen starts on Sunday from first on the grid at the Gilles-Villeneuve circuit.

Posted at 5:20 p.m

Katherine Harvey Pinard

Katherine Harvey Pinard
The press

The pilot set a time of 1:21.299 on a wet track. To everyone’s surprise, Alpine’s Fernando Alonso will start second.

Carlos Sainz (Ferrari), Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes), Kevin Magnussen (Haas), Mick Schumacher (Haas), Esteban Ocon (Alpine), George Russell (Mercedes), Daniel Ricciardo (McLaren) and Zhoun Guanyu (Alfa Romeo) complete this team top 10.


Fernando Alonso at the wheel of his Alpine

Valtteri Bottas (Alfa Romeo), Alexander Albon (Williams), Sergio Pérez (Red Bull) and Lando Norris (McLaren) retired in Q2.

Charles Leclerc did not take part in the second qualification, he will start at the bottom of the peloton on Sunday anyway. Remember that the Ferrari driver received a penalty for an engine change; the one that caused it to be abandoned in Baku last Sunday was irreparable.

Pierre Gasly (AlphaTauri) and Sebastian Vettel (Aston Martin) start on 16e and 17e. For their part, Canadians Lance Stroll and Nicholas were unlucky when they finished 18the and 19e Time.

But Stroll struggled in free practice the day before, well placed at the wheel of an Aston Martin that was literally undriveable.


Lance Stroll drives his Aston Martin

“We don’t understand what happened,” the pilot said at the press conference. We had no grip and at the end there was still a yellow flag…”

For her part, Latifi didn’t hide her disappointment. “It’s obviously frustrating,” he said. I would have liked to have done better here in front of the Canadian fans. The conditions were very difficult with little visibility and little grip. I gave the maximum, but it was really difficult because of the car’s lack of balance. We will work on the car and try to find good settings for the race. We will see… ”

Stroll and Latifi should move up at least one place on the starting line-up due to the penalty imposed on Charles Leclerc, but they will still have a tough task on Sunday to try and get a good finish. Yuki Tsunoda (Alfa Romeo) had the worst qualifying time.

More details to come.


1D line :

Max Verstappen (Red Bull)

Fernando Alonso (Alpine Renault)

2e line :

Carlos Sainz Jr (Ferrari)

Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)

3e line :

Kevin Magnussen (Haas Ferrari)

Mick Schumacher (Haas Ferrari)

4e line :

Esteban Ocon (Alpine Renault)

George Russell (Mercedes)

5e line :

Daniel Ricciardo (McLaren Mercedes)

Zhou Guanyu (Alfa Romeo)

6e line :

Valtteri Bottas (Alfa Romeo)

Alexander Albon (Williams Mercedes)

7e line :

Sergio Perez (Red Bull)

Lando Norris (McLaren Mercedes)

8the line :

Pierre Gasly (AlphaTauri-Red Bull)

Sebastian Vettel (Aston Martin Mercedes)

9e line :

Lance Stroll (Aston Martin Mercedes)

Nicholas Latifi (Williams Mercedes)

10e line :

Charles Leclerc (Ferrari)

Yuki Tsunoda (AlphaTauri Red Bull)

With Agence France-Presse

Leave a Comment