Football: Canada have unveiled their line-up for June and Alphonso Davies is included

Banned from the international scene since last November, Alphonso Davies will return to the Canada team in June for matches against Iran, Curaçao and Honduras.

The 21-year-old Albertan missed Canada’s last six games in its 2002 World Cup qualifying run due to myocarditis, which developed after contracting COVID-19. On April 6, he returned for Bayern after almost four months of absence.

Three CF Montreal members have also been added to the 25-man squad by coach John Herdman: defenders Alistair Johnston and Kamal Miller, and midfielder Samuel Piette.

Currently occupies 38and Rank in FIFA rankings, the Canadians will face Iran (21and) in a game that caused controversy in the final days before the start of the Concacaf Nations League against Curaçao (No. 79) four days later. On June 13, Canada travels to Honduras to face 82nd in the world rankings.

The friendly against Iran is not unanimous as 55 Canadian citizens and 30 permanent residents were killed in the crash of Ukrainian International Airlines Flight 752, which was shot down by an Iranian missile after its departure from Tehran on January 8, 2020.

An organization representing the families of the victims of this theft has opposed this meeting since it was announced. Prime Minister Justin Trudeau said this week that Canada’s Border Protection Agency will decide whether or not Iranian officers will be allowed into the country.

Canada Lineup:

Goalkeepers: Milan Borjan, Red Star Belgrade (Serbia); Maxime Crepeau, Los Angeles FC (MLS); Dayne St Clair, Minnesota United (MLS).

Defender: Samuel Adekugbe, Hatayspor FC (Turkey); Raheem Edwards, Los Angeles Galaxy (MLS); Doneil Henry, Los Angeles FC (MLS); Alistair Johnston, Montreal CF (MLS); Scott Kennedy, SSV Jahn Regensburg (Germany); Richie Laryea, Nottingham Forest (England); Kamal Miller, CF Montreal (MLS); Steven Vitoria, Moreirense FC (Portugal).

Midfielders: Stephen Eustaquio, FC Porto (Portugal); Atiba Hutchinson, Besiktas (Turkey); Mark-Anthony Kaye, Colorado Rapids (MLS); Jonathan Osorio, Toronto FC (MLS); Samuel Piette, Montreal FC (MLS).

Forward: Charles-Andreas Brym, FC Eindhoven (Netherlands); Tajon Buchanan, Club Brugge KV (Belgium); Lucas Cavallini, Vancouver Whitecaps (MLS); Jonathan David, OSC Lille (France); Alphonso Davies, Bayern Munich (Germany); David Hoilett, Reading FC (England); Luca Koleosho, RCD Espanyol (Spain); Cyle Larin, Besiktas (Turkey); Ike Ugbo, ES Troyes AC (France).

Leave a Comment