How do I delete my Facebook account?

For many years, Facebook has wanted to be the largest social network there is. But it’s no secret that this one is losing interest for many people and… maybe even you! If you want to delete or even just deactivate your Facebook account, you’ve come to the right place. We explain how to do it from a PC or a smartphone.

Deactivate account or delete it completely?

There are two ways to leave the account on the social network Facebook: either deactivate your account or delete it completely. However, there is an important difference between these two exit doors. The first is to take a “break” on Facebook, since it’s entirely possible to reactivate it indefinitely by logging into your account again. Once the account is deactivated, no one will have access to your profile until it is reactivated. The deletion is permanent. Once the account has been deleted, you only have 30 days to initiate a deletion cancellation process if you so choose. After thirty days, your Facebook account simply no longer exists.

How do I deactivate a Facebook account?

Deactivate your Facebook account from a computer

Here are the few very simple steps you can use to disable your Facebook account temporarily or not in an internet browser from a computer (Windows, macOS, Chrome OS, Linux, etc.):

  • Go to Facebook and log into your account;
  • Click the down arrow at the top right of the screen;
  • Click on “Settings and Privacy” and then on “Settings”;
  • Click on “Privacy” on the left of the screen and then on “Your Facebook Information”;
  • Click on “Deactivation and Deletion”;
  • Select “Deactivate account” and then confirm the different steps;

In the very last step, Facebook will ask you to enter your password to complete the deactivation.

Deactivate your Facebook account on an iPhone or iPad

On your iPhone or iPad, open the official Facebook application and then follow these few steps:

  • Click “Menu” at the bottom right of the screen;
  • Scroll the screen and then click on “Settings and privacy”;
  • Click on “Privacy Shortcuts”;
  • Scroll down until you reach the “Your Facebook Data” section, then click on “Delete your account and information”;
  • Check “Deactivate account” and then “Proceed with account deactivation”;
  • Confirm the steps, enter your password and complete the deactivation.

Disable Facebook account on iOS

Deactivate your Facebook account on an Android smartphone or tablet

The procedure for deactivating a Facebook account from an Android smartphone or a tablet with the same operating system is similar to iOS:

  • Click on the three parallel bars at the top right of the screen under the Messenger icon;
  • Scroll the screen and then click on “Settings and privacy”;
  • Click on “Privacy Shortcuts”;
  • Scroll down until you reach the “Your Facebook Data” section, then click on “Delete your account and information”;
  • Check “Deactivate account” and then “Proceed with account deactivation”;
  • Confirm the steps, enter your password and complete the deactivation.

disable facebook account on android

How do I delete a Facebook account?

Delete Facebook account from computer

Here are the few very simple steps you can use to permanently delete your Facebook account from a computer (Windows, macOS, Chrome OS, Linux,…) in a web browser:

  • Go to Facebook and log into your account;
  • Click the down arrow at the top right of the screen;
  • Click on “Settings and Privacy” and then on “Settings”;
  • Click on “Privacy” on the left of the screen and then on “Your Facebook Information”;
  • Click on “Deactivation and Deletion”;
  • Select “Delete account” and then confirm the different steps;
  • Enter your password and complete the deactivation.

Delete Facebook account

Delete your Facebook account from an iPhone or iPad

To permanently delete your Facebook account from an iPhone, follow the steps below:

  • Click “Menu” at the bottom right of the screen;
  • Scroll the screen and then click on “Settings and privacy”;
  • Click on “Privacy Shortcuts”;
  • Scroll down until you reach the “Your Facebook Data” section, then click on “Delete your account and information”;
  • Check “Delete account” and then “Proceed with account deletion”;
  • Confirm the steps, enter your password and complete the deletion process.

Delete Facebook account on iOS

Delete your Facebook account from an Android smartphone or tablet

Just like deactivation, deleting a Facebook account on Android is very simple and looks the same as deleting on iPhone and iPad:

  • Click on the three parallel bars at the top right of the screen under the Messenger icon;
  • Scroll the screen and then click on “Settings and privacy”;
  • Click on “Privacy Shortcuts”;
  • Scroll down until you reach the “Your Facebook Data” section, then click on “Delete your account and information”;
  • Check “Delete account” and then “Proceed with account deletion”;
  • Confirm the steps, enter your password and complete the deletion process.

Delete Facebook account on Android

General questions about deleting a Facebook account

After How Long Time Will Facebook Account Be Completely Deleted?

Thirty days after initiating the deletion process, your Facebook account will be permanently deleted unless you have requested deletion. You will no longer be offered a solution to recover it.

Is it possible to continue using Messenger with a deleted Facebook account?

No, once the Facebook account is deleted Messenger will no longer be accessible through that account. You can only continue to use the Facebook Messenger instant messaging service if you deactivate an account.

What happens to my Pages if my Facebook account is deleted?

If the account is deleted, all pages that you alone manage will be deactivated. If another admin existed on the site, it will continue to exist.

Is it possible to recover Facebook data before deletion?

Yes, you can ask Facebook for a full copy of your Facebook data before deleting your account and even at any time:

  • Go to Facebook and log into your account;
  • Click the down arrow at the top right of the screen;
  • Click on “Settings and Privacy” and then on “Settings”;
  • Click on “Privacy” on the left of the screen and then on “Your Facebook Information”;
  • Finally, click on “Download profile information”;
  • Select the period in the dedicated field, leave everything checked and go to the bottom of the page;
  • Click Request Download. A copy will be made and you will be notified by email when it becomes available.

Leave a Comment