Succession to Erin O’Toole: Six suitors step up

The formation finally unveiled its official list of emerging leaders on Monday through the voice of Ian Brodie, chairman of the organizing committee for the election.

A total of six candidates will fight to succeed Erin O’Toole, namely Pierre Poilievre – who is considered the favorite – Jean Charest, Leslyn Lewis, Patrick Bown, Scott Aitchison and Roman Baber.

Left to right, top to bottom: Pierre Poilievre, Leslyn Lewis, Jean Charest, Roman Baber, Patrick Brown and Scott Aitchison.

Photo: Radio Canada

Five other competitors had qualified as a result of the first stage of the April 19 race, namely Leona Alleslev, Marc Dalton, Joseph Bourgault, Joel Etienne and Grant Abraham. However, they did not have their applications certified.

In mid-March, Toronto businessman Bobby Singh also announced his intention to run for party leadership, but his name was not among the candidates running the first phase — that of March 19.

The other 11 candidates had to meet a number of conditions by last Friday. Specifically, they had to collect 500 signatures and $300,000, including $200,000 in registration fees and $100,000 in a compliance deposit (refundable).

Rejected candidates require explanations

Former MP Leona Alleslev, who was once Deputy Head of Parliament CCP under Andrew Scheer, and Marc Dalton, who currently represents the British Columbia horseback riding from Pitt Meadows – Maple Ridge in the House of Commons, had announced in the last few days that they would not have their candidacy certified by the party.

The two politicians admitted they had failed to raise the necessary $300,000 by April 29. This is not the case for three other rejected applicants.

Taking to Twitter on Monday, Saskatchewan businessman Joseph Bourgault and British Columbia attorney Grant Abraham said they have asked the party for an explanation because they believe they have met all the conditions to enter the race.

According to our information, Toronto attorney Joel Etienne also filed a similar request privately.

MP Leslyn Lewis, who is in her second leadership race in two years, tweeted Monday that the party should let her compete.

We want a fair race, she said in English. I’m not afraid of uphill battles and the Conservative Party shouldn’t rule out legitimate candidates. »

A quote from Leslyn Lewis, CCP leading candidate

It’s important to note that in the leadership contest rules unveiled in March, the Leadership Election Organizing Committee (LEOC) reserved the right to disqualify certain candidates even if they managed to get 500 signatures and $300,000 before April 29. collect dollars.

The Leadership Contestant Nomination Committee (CICC) can rely on these rules any other information it deems useful to verify a candidate’s suitability and recommend CEOC that a certain candidate is excluded from the candidacy.

We also know that Joseph Bourgault and Grant Abraham—as well as Leslyn Lewis and Marc Dalton—had received the support of the Campaign Life Coalitiona pro-life group that has long attempted to pull the party to the right on social issues.

An admirer of former US President Donald Trump, Mr Bourgault also took part in the truckers’ demonstration on Parliament Hill last winter.

Grant Abraham had criticized Conservative MPs after the unanimous passage of Bill C-4 banning conversion therapy in December in the House of Commons.


In a written statement broadcast to Radio-Canada on Monday afternoon, the director general of the CCPWayne Benson assured that, however The final review was based on the requirements set out in the rules rather than a potential candidate’s political beliefs.

Four debates this month

Candidate leaders whose candidacy is confirmed must attend the party’s official debates, which will be held on May 11 in Edmonton (in English) and May 25 in Montreal (in French). A third game could be added later.

Meanwhile, a first debate, this time unofficial, will take place on Thursday in the presence of all the candidates except Patrick Brown, who is struggling with cultural communities behind the cameras. This debate is organized by the network Canada strong and free (the previous Manning Center). It will be held in English in Ottawa.

A fourth debate, also in English, will be organized by theIndependent Press Gallery of Canada on May 30th in Toronto, but at the moment only Jean Charest, Leslyn Lewis and Roman Baber have confirmed their attendance.

Poilievre first in funding

According to data available on the Elections Canada website, it was Pierre Poilievre who raised the most funds as of March 31 with $545,298, ahead of Jean Charest ($490,088), Leslyn Lewis ($225, 571 dollars), Patrick Brown ($115,775). , Scott Aitchison ($90,945) and Roman Baber ($53,987).

Although many observers seem to think that the member for Carleton on September 10 could easily be elected, any candidate can have an impact on the outcome of the race as the race’s rules provide a preferential voting system that often results in an election in several rounds.

However, such a system tends to favor “consensus” candidates. It has also resulted in the defeat of the ‘leader’ in the last two races for the lead CCPnamely Maxime Bernier in 2017 and Peter MacKay in 2020.

With information from Christian Noël and John Paul Tasker (CBC)

Leave a Comment