Carey Price CH nominee for the Bill Masterton Trophy

The words perseverance, dedication and team spirit define the Bill-Masterton Trophy. Carey Price embodied those values ​​this season by working hard to return to the game in the final stages of a non-action season.

• Also read: Guy Lafleur: unforgettable meeting for disabled children

Price has come a very long way before his April 15 return. Having knee surgery on July 23, two weeks after the Canadian’s five-game elimination against the Tampa Bay Lightning in the Finals, the No. 31 was expected to be out for a period of 10 to 12 weeks.

According to the doctors’ initial plan, the Anahim Lake goalkeeper was only expected to be absent for a few games at the start of the season. But the plan was quickly derailed.

He did not recover quickly due to the sudden movements required of a goalkeeper and a serious medical history.

Price also decided to tackle another big issue, that of his mental health. Price also showed courage by signing up for the NHL and NHLPA’s assistance program in October to help combat a substance abuse problem. The change apparently forced him to take a break from rehabilitation.

A dangerous return

Price put a major doubt out of his mind by making a comeback 282 days after his last game this season. In four starts, No. 31 suffered four losses and had 4.04 goals against average and an .853 save percentage.

Price has been solid in his first two games against the New York Islanders and Minnesota Wild and has conceded six goals each in his last two games against the Philadelphia Flyers and Ottawa Senators.

If his mission was to prove he was 100% recovered, he replaced a doubt with his own sanity and that of his coaches by retiring from visiting the Boston Bruins during Sunday’s tribute to Guy Lafleur, rather than from it attended the team’s next scheduled trip to New York on Wednesday.

good candidates

Chosen by the Montreal Chapter of the Association of Professional Hockey Writers (PHWA) to represent the Habs in the final ballot, Price competes against 31 other players, one candidate for each of the 31 other NHL teams.

Ryan Getzlaf (Anaheim Ducks), Zdeno Chara (Islanders), Kyle Okposo (Sabres) and Kevin Hayes (Flyers) receive multiple votes for this trophy. Quebecer Anthony Duclair (Florida Panthers) is also one of the elected officials. A vote will be taken among the 32 candidates to reduce this list to three finalists.

The winner of the trophy will be announced after the playoffs at the annual NHL Awards Gala.

Flyer paint holder Oskar Lindblom received the 2020-21 honor.

The other 31 candidates

Anaheim: Ryan Getzlaf

Arizona: Andrew Ladd

Boston: Jake Debrusk

Buffalo: Kyle Okposo

Calgary: Chris Tanev

CarolineAntti Raanta

Chicago: Dylan Strome

Colorado: JackJohnson

Columbus: Justin Danforth

Dallas: Tyler Seguin

Detroit: Marc Staal

Edmonton: Kris Russell

Florida: Anthony Duclair

Los Angeles: Blake Lizotte

Minnesota: Jared Spurgeon

Nashville: Mark Borowiecki

New Jersey: Nico Hischier

Long Island: Zdeno Chara

New York: Chris Kreider

Ottawa: Anton Forsberg

Philly: Kevin Hayes

Pittsburgh: Brian Boyle

St. Louis: Vladimir Tarasenko

San Jose: Brent Burns

Seattle: Jaden Schwartz

Tampa Bay: Alex Killorn

Toronto: Ondrej Kase

Vancouver: Luke Schön

Vegas: Jack Acorn

Winnipeg: Josh Morrissey

Washington: Nicklas Backstrom

Leave a Comment